Minerva Informatics Equality Award 2020 Edition 'Supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions' Call for Submissions Still Open - Deadline: 1 June 2020.

Presented by Informatics Europe
Sponsored by Google

Informatics Europe is still accepting submissions for the fifth Minerva Informatics Equality Award devoted to initiatives seeking to encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and education. The fifth of this annual award carries a prize of EUR 5,000 and is sponsored by Google.

The Informatics Europe Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognises best practices in Departments or Faculties of European Universities or Research Institutes and Labs that have been demonstrated to have a positive impact for women. On a three-year cycle the award will focus each year on a different stage of the career pipeline:

  • Developing the careers of female faculty, including retention and promotion;
  • Supporting the transition for PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions;
  • Encouraging female students to enrol in Computer Science/Informatics programs and retaining them.

The 2020 Award is devoted to gender equality initiatives and policies supporting the transition of female PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions.

The Award seeks to celebrate successful initiatives that have had a measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. Such initiatives can serve as exemplars of best practices within the community, with the potential to be widely adopted by other institutions. Submissions will need to demonstrate the impact that has been achieved.

For 2020 examples of impact could include an improved career development and better agreements on career planning for female PhD students and postdocs as recorded in objective surveys of staff experience, and increasing numbers of female faculty.

The Award will be given to a Department or Faculty to be used for further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, institutions must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated with members of the WIRE Working Group and of the Award committee are not eligible. The Award committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between different applications. Moreover, noteworthy runners up may also be included as exemplars of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.

Proposals should be submitted only at:

The proposal should include:

  • Contact information of the Head/Director of the applying Department or Faculty and the responsible for the application (who can be the same);
  • A brief summary or abstract (100 words or less) which can be made public;
  • Description of the initiative (max 2 pages);
  • Evidence of its impact (max 2 pages);
  • An optional reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  • Optionally, one or two letters of support. The letters of support may come, for example, from female staff members who have benefited from the scheme;
  • An indication of whether the submission can be considered as a runner up (if it does not win the award) and be included as an exemplar of best practice in future Informatics Europe publications.


  • Full submissions: 1 June 2020
  • Notification of winner(s): 1 August 2020

The Award will be presented at the 16th European Computer Science Summit (ECSS), in Sofia, Bulgaria, 26-28 October 2020, where a representative of the winning institution will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Committee:

  • Gordana Dodig-Crnkovic, Chalmers University of Technology and Mälardalen University, Sweden (Chair)
  • Ivona Brandic, TU Wien, Austria
  • Sylvia Ilieva, Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski", Bulgaria
  • Dympna O'Sullivan, TU Dublin, Ireland
  • Olaf Owe, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Alexander Serebrenik, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands.

Further inquiries:
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.